Official Mail


Official Government Mail

Official Mail is mail matter sent by and relating exclusively to the business of the United States Government.  The four general categories of Official Mail are:

  • Penalty Mail - official federal government mail, other than franked mail, which is authorized by law to be transmitted in the mail without prepayment of postage. Federal agencies can use Penalty Mail via meters, permits, Business Reply Mail® (BRM), PC Postage®, and Priority Mail Express™.   More information on Penalty Mail in DMM 703.70
  • Prepaid Mail - mail relating exclusively to the business of the U.S. government that is sent postage prepaid using a Commercial Payment Option.  This mail should carry the endorsement “Official Business”.
  • Internally generated USPS® mail
  • Congressional and other Franked Mail